sassy sarah

an alaskan girl's adventures, creations and aspirations

Parenting Fail May 5, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — sarahdahlstrom @ 6:31 am

Why does this parenting stuff have to be so tough? Today, I’m just done. Beat. Tired. Emotional drained. Done.

image

I’m done being a single parent. This is a whole lot more fun when my husband comes home from work and is the fun one, throwing Trigger in the air and making him giggle. Trigger doesn’t understand why his dad isn’t home during the week. The hubs moves down for real on Friday. Two more days. Two long effin days!

I’m done having a stupid freakin cast on my arm. Do you know how hard it is to drag a toddler out of Goodwill with one hand? Yup, it suuuuuuuuuuuucks to pull 27 pounds of dead weight, kicking and screaming for the ride-on toy! imageThere was no reasoning with him. I tried that. There was no talking gently at eye-level telling him I understand that he wants the car but we can’t get it today. Nope. No bribing with fruit snacks. Not even a french fry bribe worked. So that was a fun parenting fail.

Today had so many difficult moments. Crying, screaming, throwing food, fall-on-the-floor fits, “no, no NO”, “mommy, mommy, mommy”. Yes, I signed up for this. I thought because I had a mellow 1 year old that I could handle another baby. And then Trigger turned 18 months and I thought, “what in the hell were we thinking?”. Our days are mixed with so much insanity (no, not the workout) and love. Yes, of course, there is lots of LOVE.

At the end of the day all that really matter is that today Trigger said “love you” for the first time ever. Talk about a melted heart. It made me laugh. It made me cry. And then, somehow I managed to give both babies baths today. imageSomething magical happened. Trigger leaned over the tub and chatted to his brother and tickled his belly in his baby bath. Blaze was on the verge of his first giggle. They smiled at each other and Blaze cooed at his big brother. (And, PS: this kid never misses a meal. I’m in love with his chub)imageThese are the moments that all those insanely ridiculous times worth it. Seeing their interactions makes my heart grow. It gives me the push to get through the rest of the night without screaming into a pillow. Tomorrow it starts all over again. Now, if I can just get this parenting thing down. 😉

 

2 Responses to “Parenting Fail”

  1. Thrina Says:

    Serenity, Balance & Bergamot. Keep up the good work!!

  2. Jessica Says:

    Sounds like a parenting win to me! 👍🏽You walked away, w/o the toy from the store, even in the really uncomfortable fight, to show your son that Mom’s word is final. You also got proof of his approval for you at the end of the day. Sounds like you got this parenting thing 😉 Cute blog, Sarah!


Leave a Reply

